Loves and life on the Garden Route in South Africa

Through the eyes of volunteer coordinator and crazy cat lady, Sharon

Volunteer feedback from Ayesha Akre May 6, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — shadreyer @ 8:32 am

Travellers Worldwide volunteers in Knysna

Ayesha volunteered at the youth development placement in Knysna

IMG_3037When I arrived in South Africa I had no idea what to expect but still managed to keep an open mind of what I would be dealing with. My project was to work with children in a youth centre located in the township. The first time I saw the township I wasn’t as emotional as I thought I would be probably because I already had a vision. I think the cultural shock kicked in when I heard the stories of the lives of the children were forced to live. It is hard to believe the struggle children as young as 5 go through every single day. At first, when meeting the children I was a little worried if they would accept me or because to them I was a stranger. The language barrier was also a little difficult to deal with in the…

View original post 169 more words

 

Leave a Reply

