Loves and life on the Garden Route in South Africa

Through the eyes of volunteer coordinator and crazy cat lady, Sharon

Oudtshoorn, more Karoo visits September 8, 2014

So on Thursday I have a tour to Oudtshoorn with an overseas volunteer. For those that don’t know about Oudtshoorn, it’s largely regarded as the ostrich capital of South Africa and is a pretty town found in the Karoo with gorgeous old sandstone historic buildings.

I shall be first taking our volunteer to the Cango caves to do the heritage your. I can’t wait to see these natural caves and rock formations in undeniably Africa’s most popular ‘show caves’. The Cango caves have had excavations that prove humans have lived in the entrance dating as far back as the Middle and Later Stone Ages. Africa truly is the home of mankind!

Cango Caves

Obviously an ostrich farm will have to also be on the cards and I’ve decided to take him to the Cango Ostrich Show farm. One thing I will do though is not encourage ostrich riding which I think is not necessary and cruel.

Cango Ostrich Farm

Last but not least is a visit to the Cango Wildlife ranch which is actually an accredited zoo. One of the things they offer is crocodile cage diving! Yes you read that right!

However I will also not encourage any cub petting as I don’t feel that it’s an ethical thing to do to any wild animal. We shall just observe them.

Cango Wildlife Ranch

As the town I live in is a 2 hour drive from Oudtshoorn, I don’t visit there as much as I would like to. I’m really starting to love the Karoo and it’s very unique beauty. Hopefully I will take lots of stunning photos and upload them at a later stage on here.

IMG_0938.JPG

IMG_0932.JPG

IMG_0967.JPG

IMG_0965.JPG

IMG_0937.JPG

 

2 Responses to “Oudtshoorn, more Karoo visits”

  1. Emy Will Says:

    Thank you for NOT promoting ostrich riding and animal petting. I totally agree that it is cruel and harmful.
    Have a good trip ❤


Leave a Reply

