Loves and life on the Garden Route in South Africa

Through the eyes of volunteer coordinator and crazy cat lady, Sharon

Monkey madness! February 5, 2014

Filed under: animals,knysna,Out & about,volunteering,wildlife,youth — shadreyer @ 11:33 am
Tags: , ,

Volunteer Jasmine Burford’s experiences while volunteering in Knysna, South Africa

enchantedafrica

I’d already had a wonderful experience seeing various species of monkeys at Monkeyworld on my second day of my visit. 

However, there were two more experiences with monkeys (one which I was lucky to capture on camera), and the other which I unfortunately was not there to witness but heard about from our volunteer liaison, Sharon. 

On my first day, I had been warned that there were vervet monkeys very close by which were often seen in the garden and were relaxed around humans, but we were of course advised not to approach them. I had been desperate to see them up close, as I wouldn’t have believed it unless I had seen them. (The whole being in Africa thing still hadn’t sunk in!) But fortunately, I did get to see them. 

I’m not sure what day this was exactly, but we had just returned from somewhere and were bringing…

View original post 640 more words

 

Leave a Reply

