Loves and life on the Garden Route in South Africa

Through the eyes of volunteer coordinator and crazy cat lady, Sharon

Re-post on a visitor to Knysna’s Judah Square August 27, 2012

Filed under: knysna,Out & about,Rasta,Uncategorized — shadreyer @ 1:58 pm
Tags: , ,

Interesting story of a young American’s visit to the Rastafarian community in Knysna were I live

Compass Trek

South African Adventure To Rastafarian Community

By: Evan McCaffrey

During my freshman year of at West Virginia University I began to get a strong sense of restlessness and un-fulfillment. At the time I was reading a novel called Henderson and the Rain King. A story written by Saul Bellow of a spiritual journey of a rich middle-aged man who feels unfulfilled with his life and travels to Africa to discover his true identity . In the novel Henderson asks if every man has his Africa? This question stuck with me and instead of taking it figuratively, like it was meant to be, I went to my student exchange office and signed up to study abroad in South Africa.

After working all summer to pay for the trip I arrived at Stellenbosch University. I immediately fell in love with the country and the atmosphere. The nature, the people, and the parties…

View original post 5,548 more words

 

Leave a Reply

