Loves and life on the Garden Route in South Africa

Through the eyes of volunteer coordinator and crazy cat lady, Sharon

Thank you August 25, 2012

Filed under: award — shadreyer @ 7:45 pm
Tags: ,

Thank you ABC of Spirit Talk and sorry I haven’t done a great job of following instructions!

http://abcofspiritalk.files.wordpress.com/2012/08/versatile-august62012

7 things about me

  1. My favourite colours are green and then yellow
  2. I have dyed my hair every shade under the sun and used to be a punk in my youth
  3. I changed my career direction at 40
  4. I LOVE technology and am an Apple Mac fan
  5. Cinnamon is my favourite smell
  6. I grew up in the apartheid regime in South Africa and if it still existed would be arrested for transgressing two laws
  7. I have never had kids or wanted kids. I don’t think I would find it possible to love children more than my cats

I nominate the following blogs for awards;

Inspirational photos

Cats,cats,cats

All things Mac

Great advise from a Persian breeder

One of the nicest bands in South Africa’s blog- great music, great people, great attitude

Helping save South Africa’s lions

Johannesburg Persian Rescue run by the wonderful Joy

ABC of Spirit Talk with Carolyn Page

Thanks to all of those delightful people who have nominated me for awards – you rock…!

Another Award Thank You Page

About ivonprefontaine  

I have been an educator for almost 20 years. Prior to that, I worked in private industry for 15 years, then returned to university to earn my education degree. For the past 11 years, I have been a co-creator of learning in a unique, progressive, alternative educational school of choice. Currently, I am engaged in a doctoral program at Gonzaga University in Spokane. A main theme in my learning there has been the roles of systems thinking, complexity theory, and organizational theory, and how they apply to education generally and the learning environment I share with students, parents, and colleagues.

Thank You Ivon

The rules are:

  1. Link back to the person who nominated you
  2. Post the award image to your page
  3. Tell seven facts about yourself

View original post 697 more words

 

10 Responses to “Thank you”

  1. I love your 7 things…. 🙂
    I’m very curious about the 2 laws you would be arrested for…!?!
    I love the smell of cinnamon…. &
    Cats make wonderful children… haha.. 🙂

    • shadreyer Says:

      The fact that I’m in an inter-racial relationship would have been enough to get me and my partner both arrested (cant remember the exact name of that ruling but there was another called the Mixed Marriages Act which also outlawed marriage between races) and of course we live together which would have been contravening the apartheid Group Areas Act. There were quite a few apartheid laws.

  2. I knew a fellow from Sth Africa. He was tied in knots about what was happening in his home country. He had taken his family and ventured to Australia hoping for a better life. I think he achieved that although I’m sure there was still some bigotry that he had to negotiate. He was a great guy.
    I can’t possibly appreciate how devastating those times were. Thank goodness you don’t have to live under those archaic rules any longer….!

    • shadreyer Says:

      It was weird in a way as the media was very controlled and as a white youth I was very sheltered on what was really going on. We still have a lot of problems and racism-just like in many other countries-still raises its ugly head. But it’s not something I tolerate in mine. I love my beautiful country. I’ve lived in England but would never leave SA again. All my Dad’s family emigrated to America, 1 brother 48 years ago because of the apartheid system and the other 2 about 10 years ago because of crime. I’m glad my father never despite being accepted too

  3. The fellow I mentioned was not quite as dark as some of his brothers. He said that helped him, somewhat, to avoid a lot of the racism as a youth. I was brought up by two individuals who, although they had their particular limitations, they didn’t hold any racism thoughts. My mother was brought up on a farm and played with the aboriginal children eating the natural foods and such. Happily I lived a free life in that regard, and of course, still do today. We have quite a number of black SA’s here in Australia today. I can see a little racism creeping into the eyes of the people when they see the newcomers. I suppose that we too shall go through a process of acceptance of all, as more and more people of dark colour arrive. However; it must happen for us all to eventually realise; we are all the same beneath our skin colour…!

    • shadreyer Says:

      Really? Quite surprised that black South Africans have moved there?!?! I know a lot of whites moved to Oz and in particular a lot of Jewish folk. Since they set up Black Economic Empowerment in SA a lot of whites feel that they stand better chances of employment in other countries. Also the high crimes rates have scared off quite a few but then of course the crime rates are high in the big cities. I lived in Johannesburg for 18 years and only had a car stolen in all that time. I know live in as small town for 4 years and have had 1 house breaking and my car CD player stolen out my car. I don’t think that’s bad, 3 thefts (all non-violent) over 22 years. And in all cases insurance paid out.

      • I never did get to meet his wife however; I believe that she was English or German (this was back in the early 90’s). I can remember him saying he preferred Canada however, Australia came through. I believe his mother was English… I’ve just found this Wikipedia page that may prove of interest: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/African_Australian
        As for crime: I’ve seen (on TV news) and read a little in our papers about the crime in SA. It seems wherever there is inequality of living standards there will be crime… It’s a worldwide problem, of course. (Apart from the career criminals who are a phenomenon of their own.)

      • shadreyer Says:

        Exactly. To be honest if I had 2 kids and no job and my kids were starving who knows what I might do. Our social system isn’t great. The grants that unemployed mothers get are so small you can hardly afford to buy mapped with them let alone food. In SA a lot of our problems stem from that huge divide between the haves and the have nots. The living conditions for many are terrible and our present government has a lot of corruption so that money meant on uplifting the poor is going into certain peoples pockets. A lot of people have had enough as service delivery in many areas fails. The amount of towns and cities that have a clean municipal audit is very small

  4. I’m wondering, Sharon, if you left a comment on the blogs of those you’ve nominated for the award?


Leave a Reply

